THE art of distillation

Read more

After having carefully blended every botanical ingredient of our gin (juniper berries, monkey bread, coriander, carda- mom, grains of paradise, angelica roots, dried mango, ginger, nutmeg) in order to release all of their aromas, we obtained a mixture that macerated in wheat alcohol for 48 hours. Then, we filled the copper pot and put it over high heat. After an hour, the mixture started to simmer, so we turned the heat down to its lowest possible setting.

The alcohol vapours rose up the heater chamber and the swan’s neck (the two elements placed above the pot) to reach the column. Then, they slowly went up the cooling pipe (or worm) and, cooled by the contact with cold copper, condenses back into liquid, or distillate. At the end of the worm, we can find the parrot spout (porte-alcoomètre) from where our elixir (or gin) will start dropping. As this stage, it reaches almost 82% of alcohol... In French, this step is re- ferred to as the “mise au courant.” After that, the mixture remains over a very gentle heat for 3 hours, which allows us to collect around 200 litres of gin reaching 80% of alcohol. The art of distillation is a simple one: all you need is a good still, good ingredients and patience.

Lord Philippe, our Cellar Master, produces his brandies (or eaux-de-vie) using a Stupfler® still, manufactured near Cognac, in France. The exclusive Stupfler® system enables him to produce great brandies with only one distillation, wi- thout them having any inherent defects of alcohol made in other column stills (hardness, overheating, aggressive notes) or pot stills (loss of flavour). Rich, subtle, surprisingly smooth and sweet despite its 50% of alcohol, the Lord of Barbès.

L’art de la distillation

Pour plus d’info cliquer ici

Après avoir minutieusement mixée chaque botanique (Baies de genévrier, pain de singe, coriandre, cardamome, maniguette, racines d’angélique, mangue séchée, gingembre, noix de muscade) pour libérer tous les arômes, la mixture obtenue est mise à macérer dans de l’alcool de blé pendant 48h. Puis nous remplissons la marmite en cuivre et nous mettons le feu à pleine puissance. Au bout d’une heure le mélange commence à frémir, il est temps de baisser le feu au minimum.

Les vapeurs commencent à monter dans le chapiteau et le col de cygne (les 2 parties en haut de la marmite) pour rejoindre la colonne. Lentement les vapeurs d’alcool montent dans la pipe de refroidissement et au contact du froid se transforment en liquide ou distillat... A la sortie de la pipe de refroidissement nous trouvons le porte-alcoomètre d’ou va commencer à couler notre élixir ou gin à environ 82%vol... c’est la mise au courant ! Nous continuons à chauffer pendant 3 heures à feu très doux pour récolter environ 200 litres à 80%vol. La distillation est un art simple. Il suffit d’un bon alambic, d’avoir des bons ingrédients et d’être patient...

Lord Philippe notre maître de chai élabore ses eaux-de-vie en utilisant un alambic STUPFLER ®, fabriqué en France près de Cognac. Le Système Exclusif STUPFLER® permet d’obtenir en une seule distillation de très élégantes eaux-de-vie, sans aucun des défauts inhérents aux alcools issus des autres alambics à colonne (dureté, brûlure, agressivité…) ou à repasse (pertes d’arômes). Riche, fin, étonnamment souple et doux malgré ses 50%vol, le gin Lord of Barbès aura conservé l’intégralité et la diversité aromatique des matières premières dont il est issue.

Privacy policy / Terms of service